Department of Energy Announces Phase 1 Winners of L-Prize® Lighting Competition

Secretary Granholm announced a $20,000 prize for each of the four Phase 1 winners of DOE's L-Prize® Lighting Competition

Bookmark and Share

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Energy dot gov Office of Energy Efficiency and renewable energy



February 3, 2022

Department of Energy Announces Phase 1 Winners of L-Prize® Lighting Competition

Today, U.S. Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm announced the four winners in Phase 1 of the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Lighting Prize (L-Prize®) at the Building Technologies Office’s annual Solid-State Lighting Workshop. The L-Prize® is a $12.2 million prize lighting competition launched by DOE in May 2021. The L-Prize® is designed to spur groundbreaking innovation, domestic manufacturing, and the benefits of an inclusive, clean-energy economy for next-generation lighting solutions in commercial buildings. 

“The lightbulb is the universal symbol of a great idea and making lighting systems even better for people and the planet may be our brightest idea yet,” said Secretary Granholm. “Investing in next-generation lighting solutions is key to tackling the climate crisis, boosting American supply chains and manufacturing of these technologies, creating good-paying jobs, and Building Back Better.”

Read more

This email was sent to on behalf of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy · 1000 Independence Ave., SW · Washington DC 20585

Web Bug from <a…” />

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *